What to do on a Weekend Afternoon – The Wallace Collection

This past week has been filled with uni-work for me (and it’s still not over. I’m just taking some cheeky time off to write this post). Sitting at my desk, I would catch myself drifting of and thinking about fun, more leisurely things which I had done recently or was going to do once I’m finished. One of theses things is the trip to the Wallace Collection I took a couple of weeks ago.

This art collection is housed in the former town house of the rich Hertford family whose Lady Wallace gave the collection to the British nation in 1897. French paintings by artists such as Boucher and Fragonard, French porcelain, Dutch Old master paintings, medieval and Renaissance works of art and princely arms and armour are nestled between skillfully crafted furniture from the times of Louis XV and Madame de Pompadour. The entrance is free and there is a lovely cafe in the covered courtyard.

The rooms are beautifully renovated and even if you are not an art buff, I’m sure this would be an enjoyable way to spend a weekend afternoon. I leave you with a couple of more impressions and hope to return with a longer post as soon as I’m ahead of my game again.

Have you been yet? What do you like to do on a weekend afternoon in London?

Leave a Reply

