Exhibitions I am excited about this Month – February 2013

If you live in London and are interested in art and co. you sooner or later realize that it’s hard to keep up with everything that’s happening (in the artworld) every month. I don’t know about you but, I often find myself reading or hearing about an exhibition AFTER it has closed and thinking “Man, I would have really liked to see this.” So, to avoid this monthly disappointment in the future, I thought I start a blog series that not only makes me research new exciting exhibitions at the beginning of each month but, hopefully, will also be motivating to you (and me) to go out and see more art. Last but not least, I will include an exhibition I saw last month which I was rather unimpressed with.

1. Light Show at Hayward Gallery (30.01.-28.04.2013):

“Light Show explores the experiential and phenomenal aspects of light by bringing together sculptures and installations that use light to sculpt and shape space in different ways.” Including  works by Olafur Eliasson, Dan Flavin and James Turrell, I am excited to find out if this show is a continuation of the Hayward’s series of (in my opinion) really good exhibitions last year.

2. Schwitters in Britain at Tate Britain (30.01. -12.05.2013):

“Schwitters in Britain is the first major exhibition to examine the late work of Kurt Schwitters, one of the major artists of European Modernism. The exhibition focuses on his British period, from his arrival in Britain as a refugee in 1940 until his death in Cumbria in 1948.” The last time I came into contact with Schwitter’s work was a few years back during my undergraduate studies in Germany. Since Schwitters is from Hannover, most of German scholarship tends to focus on the work he produced before he came to Britain, so I am curious to learn about his art from a new perspective.

3. Mark Fisher and Justin Barton: On Vanishing Land at Showroom(06.02–30.03.2013):

Curated by the Otolith Group “On Vanishing Land (2013, 45m) is a magisterial audio-essay that evokes a walk undertaken by the artists along the Suffolk coastline in 2005, from Felixstowe container port to the Anglo-Saxon burial ground at Sutton Hoo.” I have never actually been at Showroom before but the audio format of the exhibition sounds exciting and new.

4. Film and Space at Camden Arts Centre (15.12.2012-24.02.2013):

“Film in Space is a group exhibition selected by British artist-filmmaker Guy Sherwin. The exhibition focuses on expanded cinema, a film movement which came to prominence in Britain in the early 1970s, at the time Sherwin started making films.” This exhibition technically falls outside of the time frame, however I include this here mostly as a reminder to myself to go see it. Also, as you might have guessed from my last post I am quite fond of the CAC. Entrance is free and their exhibitions (almost) never disappoint.

5.  Ice Age Art at the British Museum (07.02.-26.05.2013):

“Discover masterpieces from the last Ice Age drawn from across Europe […] presented alongside modern works by Henry Moore, Mondrian and Matisse, illustrating the fundamental human desire to communicate and make art as a way of understanding ourselves and our place in the world.” The content of this exhibition is definitely not my area of expertise! However, after reading this review on the Guardian I just had to see for myself. So, I saw this show yesterday and I do recommend seeing it! I am currently writing up a review which I will post next week.

Let-down of last month: A Bigger Splash: Painting after Performance at Tate Modern (14.11.2012 – 01.04.2013

“This exhibition will take a new look at the dynamic relationship between performance and painting since 1950.” I didn’t expect much of this exhibition to begin with. I think is nearly impossible to do justice to the immediate impact a live art performance has on the audience. After the performance is over all that remains is a second-hand experience through documentation. Therefore, I found it problematic to base a whole exhibition around these left-overs.I know that the focus of the exhibition is a dialectic between painting and performance. Nevertheless, in the exhibition the juxtaposition seemed forced and lifeless to me.

So this was it for, what I hope to be one of many, monthly exhibition outlooks. Pictures and quotes are from the respective websites.

It would be great if you let me know in the comments which exhibitions you are exited to see this month!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

